For more than 60 years, AIPA has been serving Arizona’s student journalists and their advisers. All advisers and publications are encouraged to join AIPA and to involve their journalists in the many exciting events and contests available to them from this valuable organization. Here is the online membership form. Here is a pdf of the membership form: AIPA Membership & Contest Registration.

What we offer:

  • Fall contests for student media
  • Fall convention with well-known keynote speakers and plenty of learning sessions
  • Spring recognition reception
  • Summer Workshop with two-day specialized sessions
  • Student journalist and adviser awards
  • Local and national resources, networking and help for advisers

Benefits for advisers:

  • Participating in the Fall Contest. You must be a member to enter.
  • Attending the Fall Convention with a discounted registration fee.
  • Attending Summer Workshop. You must be a member to win.
  • Voting privileges.
  • Meeting and networking with other advisers and student journalists.
  • Members can serve on the AIPA Board.

Annual Membership Costs (see registration form for more detailed information):

  • Single Publication Membership – $100; includes:
    • 10 contest entries ($50 value; additional entries $5/each)
    • Discounted Fall Convention and Summer Workshop registration rates
    • 1 free adviser Fall Convention registration
    • Invitation to free spring Adviser Reception
    • Consideration for AIPA Adviser Awards
    • Access to mentoring, curriculum, support for First Amendment issues
  • School-wide Membership – $200; includes
    • Member benefits listed above for all school publications
    • Total of 25 contest entries ($125 value; additional entries $5/each)
    • 3 free adviser Fall Convention registrations
    • Invitation for 3 advisers to free spring Adviser Reception

AIPA Member Schools 2017-2018 (updated 11/20/17):

Brophy College Prep
Buena High School
Combs High School
Deer Valley High School
Desert Vista High School
Dysart High School
Greenway High School
Hamilton High School
Highland High School
Hopi Jr/Sr High School
Horizon High School
La Joya Community High School
Liberty High School
Maricopa High School
McClintock High School
Mesa High School
Mesquite High School
Moon Valley High School
Mountain Pointe High School
Notre Dame Prep
Paradise Valley High School
Perry High School
Pinnacle High School
Sandra Day O’Connor High School
Sedona Red Rock High School
Shadow Ridge High School
Sierra Linda High School
South Mountain High School
SPOT 127 Youth Media Center
Sunnyslope High School
Tolleson Union High School
Verrado High School
Willow Canyon High School

Contact Information:

1001 N. Central Ave., Suite 670
Phoenix, AZ 85004

Phone: 602-261-7655
Fax: 602-261-7525
AIPA President: Melanie Allen (

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
The official site of Arizona Interscholastic Press Association